Best care. Anywhere.

12px-flag_GB_klein 12px-flag_DE_klein
Recommended by the Diplomatic Council
More than 70000 Hospitals worldwide


NameIndian Healthcare Delivery System
Type of organisationPublic
International or nationalInternational
Period of validityFrom 18 months up to 2 years
Method of assessmentThe evaluation process incorporates interviews with patients, residents and staff. Also an on-site visit concerning all departments is done.
Public communicationPartly transparent
Target groupsPatients
Price€ 480,-
Accredited byThe NABH (National Accreditation Board for Hospitals) as a part of ISQua (International Society for Quality in Healthcare)
Quality normOwn model (see below)
FoundersVarious health institutions and mixed ownership
ObjectiveTo ensure the quality index of health consumers and to attract foreign patients
Profit or non-profit basedNon-profit
Accredited institutionsHospitals and medical colleges
Special remarksAlso used in other countries

During the last few years, India saw the need of exercising its own national accreditation system. In the 1980’s the government founded the NABH, which started to create standards for hospitals based on their number of beds. Then, the organisation realised that this way of accreditation did not work and the NABH created a catalogue of assessment criteria in 1995, which has been further developed over the years. To become an assessor, one has to undergo a certain training program to learn the assessment process (which was tailormade and designed by them; see below); this process combines both a comprehensive review of facility and clinical competence to deliver service. The NABH is also used in other countries like the Philippines.

Assessment Process in India