Best care. Anywhere.

12px-flag_GB_klein 12px-flag_DE_klein
Recommended by the Diplomatic Council
More than 70000 Hospitals worldwide


NameKooperation für Transparenz und Qualität im Gesundheitswesen (KTQ)
Type of organisationPrivate
International or nationalNational
Period of validity3 years
Method of assessmentA self assessment followed by a check from qualifi ed staff from the KTQ, resulting in the certifi cate and a quality report
Public communicationTransparent
Target groupsPatients and employees
Price€ 5,550,-
Accredited by-
Quality norm3M easy cert e QMB
FoundersCooperation between different German health insurances and the German Medical Association
ObjectiveCreate transparency in the healthcare sector
Profit or non-profit basedNon-profi t
Accredited institutionsMainly hospitals
Special remarks-

Germany offers a big variety of international and national accreditation systems/organisations. In total, Germany has 12 organisations that assess the quality of the hospitals. Some of these are directly connected to hospitals, such as ‘Der Gemeinsame Bundesausschuss’ but there are also institutions that are not connected to the medical industry, for example ‘Deutsche Rentenversicherungsverbund’. The latter is an insurance company concentrating on pensions in Germany. In Germany governmental institutions only inspect hospitals with regard to medical and technological aspects. They are not handing out a certificate. An example of a governmental institution is ‘Der Gemeinsame Bundesausschuss’, being responsible for the establishment of new rules and regulations for hospitals and medical staff and their execution in Germany. The most well known certification with around 620 accredited hospitals is the KTQ (Kooperation für Transparenz und Qualität im Gesundheitswesen (Cooperation for Transparency and Quality in Healthcare)) which is presented in the table above. KTQ is a private organisation that gives accreditation to hospitals on a voluntary basis and is accredited by 3M easy cert and eQMB, two voluntarily quality certifications based in Germany.

The first step of the KTQ accreditation process is a self-evaluation of the hospital. This is followed by the registration at a KTQ office. Upon registration the hospital will be visited by an external evaluator. If the hospital meets the required standards, it receives KTQ certification and a KTQ quality report. The report is transparent and clearly laid out, it which combines and explains all areas that have been evaluated. It is written in an easy and understandable language, so people not familiar with hospitals and medical terms, can understand it as well.

The evaluation is based on six main parts:

  1. Orientation towards the patient,
  2. Orientation towards the employee,
  3. Security,
  4. Information technology,
  5. Leadership style and
  6. Quality management.

The KTQ certification is an ongoing improvement process, which has not yet been completed. The inspected hospitals are developing and maintaining the quality standards by continuously adapting themselves to all new rules and changes based on trends and regulations within the healthcare sector.