Best care. Anywhere.

12px-flag_GB_klein 12px-flag_DE_klein
Recommended by the Diplomatic Council
Mehr als 70.000 Kliniken weltweit


NameQuality Improvement Council, Australia
Type of organisationPublic
International or nationalInternational
Period of validity3 years
Method of assessmentSelf- assessment, external peer review, feedback, and taking action
Public communicationTransparent
Target groupsPatients and government
PriceVaries between sectors
Accredited byISQua
Quality normPlan, do, check, act
ObjectiveContinuous quality improvement in healthcare facilities
Profit or non-profit basedNon-profit
Accredited institutionsHealth and community services sectors
Special remarks-

The Quality Improvement Council (QIC) of Australia is responsible for the accreditations of hospitals. On May 10, 2010, QIC released its 6th edition of “Standards”, including all the standards healthcare institutions have to fulfil in order to obtain the QIC accreditation.

The “Standards” focus on management. Especially risk management and human resources management are topics considered, unlike in other hospital accreditation systems. Furthermore, future planning and strategy are part of the process with QIC. A healthcare institution has to be prepared for the future, not only in regard to financial issues but also concerning upcoming law changes and developing trends. QIC uses the “Plan, do, check, act” principle, which is an efficient tool for the examination phase.

Besides its own standards, QIC also uses standards established by other bodies. These bodies include, for example, the standards of the New Zealand Ministry of Health, the Victorian Department of Human Services and the Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services. For this reason, this accreditation system can be used in Australia as well as in other regions.